Board of Trustees of the Endowment Fund

Click here for the Organizational Chart.

Bios of the Board of Trustees of the Endowment Fund, 2022-2023

Stanhope A. Kelly, Chair | Raleigh, NC: Stan Kelly is the CEO and President of Piedmont Triad Partnership. He graduated from NC State’s Poole College of Management, earning his Bachelor of Arts in Business Management in 1980. In addition to his service on the Board of Trustees, Stan is Director on the Board of Glen Raven, Inc. and was previously President of Wachovia Wealth Management and Wells Fargo Carolina’s community Banking. He was also a member of the NC State University Foundation Board, a member of the Park Scholars Selection Committee, Chair of the Poole College of Management Achieve! Campaign Steering Committee, a member of the Alumni Association Board of Directors, and Chair of the Winston Salem Foundation. In 2005, he received the Pool College of Management Alumnus of the Year award and, in the same year, was granted an honorary lifetime membership in the NC State Alumni Association.

Ed Weisiger, Jr., Vice Chair | Charlotte, NC: President and CEO of CTE in Charlotte. Served as a member of the NC State University Engineering Foundation, the Student Aid Association Board of Directors and the W.H. Page Lifetime Giving Society, and is an honorary lifetime member of the NC State Alumni Association. Recipient of the ISE Distinguished Alumni Award. Established the Edward I. Weisiger Professorship in the area of construction engineering and management and Carolina Tractor & Equipment Co.

W. Randolph “Randy” Woodson, Chancellor | Dr. Randy Woodson, the 14th chancellor of North Carolina State University, is a nationally recognized scholar and academic leader who oversees the largest university in North Carolina with more than 34,000 students and a budget of $1.4 billion.




Thomas E. Cabaniss | Richmond, VA:  Chair of the NC State University Board of Trustees.  Thomas Cabaniss formerly served as a managing partner of McGuireWoods LLP for eleven years. He was also the President of the NC State Alumni Association and is an Honorary Lifetime member. Tom previously was on the NC State University Foundation Board of Directors and is the founding member of the State Club Board of Directors. He is also a member of the Peele Giving Society. Tom graduated with a B.S. in Industrial Engineering from NC State in 1972, and a J.D. from University of Virginia in 1975.


Benjamin P. Jenkins | Charlotte, NC: The former Vice Chairman and President of the General Banking Group of Wachovia Corporation, Mr. Jenkins is a member of the Capital One Financial Corporation Board of Directors; is an advisory partner with Fennebresque and Company; is a former managing director and vice chairman for retail banking for Morgan Stanley; and has held leadership positions with First Union banks. In addition to his financial generosity and service as a trustee, Mr. Jenkins has served on the Board of Visitors; as a member of the Graduate School Advisory Board; as honorary chair of the 4-H Gala; and as a member of the PCOM Dean Nomination Committee. Mr. Jenkins, honored as the College of Management Person of the Year in 2008, has volunteered as a judge for the college’s student showcase program. Ben Jenkins is a driving force behind the success of Poole College of Management and Jenkins Graduate School of Management.  He is a lifetime member of the Friends of the Library, a member of the Alumni Association and a member of Sigma Nu fraternity.

Michael Lawrence | Raleigh, NC: Michael Lawrence is a certified public accountant with over 25 years of experience in accounting and financial services. He has served in leadership roles as Chief Financial Officer, Chief Operating Officer and President and Chief Executive Officer throughout his career. Mr. Lawrence works at Alamance Farmers’ Mutual Insurance Company and has previously worked
at North Carolina Mutual Life Insurance Company, NCM Capital Management Group Inc., and Deloitte and Touche, LLP. He has been a Director of M&F Bancorp Inc. since 2006 and for its subsidiary Mechanics & Farmers Bank since June 2005, serving on various committees including Vice-Chairman of the Audit Committee and Chairman of the Information Systems Committee. In addition, Mr. Lawrence has served on the North Carolina State Investment Fund Board from 2010 to 2019, ending his tenure as Chair of the Board. Throughout his career he has served on various non-profit board organizations in the Raleigh-Durham area. He earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Accounting from North Carolina State University.

James “Jim” Owens | Peoria Heights, IL:  Former Chair of the NC State University Board of Trustees.  Former Chairman and CEO of Caterpillar Inc. Currently serves on the Board of Directors of Alcoa, IBM and Morgan Stanley. Recipient of NC State’s Watauga Medal, Poole College of Management’s Alumnus of the Year 1999 and Person of the Year 2009, a lifetime member of the NC State Alumni Association and member of the Peele Giving Society.  B.S. and Master’s degrees in Textile Technology, Ph.D. in Economics from NC State.


Susan P. Ward | Raleigh, NC:  Former member of the NC State Board of Trustees.  Member of the College of Veterinary Medicine Foundation Board since 1993, currently serving as President for the third time; member of the Shelton Leadership Center Board of Advisors, the Wolfpack Women In Philanthropy, and the Endowment Fund Board of Trustees. Past service includes the Friends of the Gregg Board, Arts NC State Board, the Achieve! Campaign Steering Committee, the executive committee for the Campaign for NC State Students, and the Think and Do the Extraordinary Campaign Steering Committee.  Ms. Ward also served on search committees for the Vice-Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs, for Deans of the Colleges of Textiles and Veterinary Medicine, for Associate Vice-Chancellor of University Advancement, and on the Building Committee for the Park Alumni Center. Ms. Ward, with her late husband Randall, led the College of Veterinary Medicine’s campaign to build the Randall B. Terry Jr. Companion Animal Medical Center and funded the Hannah Heart Pavilion within the Terry Center.  They created scholarships in Veterinary Medicine, Art & Design, Textiles, Education, the Caldwell Fellows Program, Athletics, and the Arts.

In 2011 she received the Watauga Medal.  The Wards have also been the recipients of the Menscer Cup, Bowers Medal of Arts, CVM Dean’s Award, and Wings On Wings College of Art & Design Award.  She is a Member of the W.J. Peele Society and the R.S. Pullen Society, and a Lifetime member of the Wolfpack Club and Friends of the Arts NC State.  Ms. Ward graduated with honors from Western Carolina University with a Bachelor of Fine Arts.

H.G “Hans” Warren Jr.  | Charlotte, NC: Hans Warren received his B.A. in civil engineering construction from NC State in 1984. He is the president of Warco Construction, Inc., a Charlotte, NC-based construction company specializing in sprayed fireproofing and commercial interior construction. Warren currently serves as a board member of the NC State University Foundation, Inc. and a member of the Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering Industry Advisory Board, having formerly served as a member of its Development Committee. He is also a member of the W.H. Page Society, a lifetime member of the NC State Alumni Association, a charter member of the Lonnie Poole Golf Course.